Sally Strange:

Because @FeministWhore has consistently pointed out how much feminism falls on its face when it comes to the topic of sex work, I thought that Jadehawk’s amazing post deserves a wider audience. So, dear readers–all 4 or 5 of you–please take this to heart and spread it far and wide. Any feminism I’m part of will have something besides criminalization and shame to offer sex workers. “My feminism will be intersectional or it will be bullshit.”

Originally posted on Jadehawk's Blog:

Jill wrote a blog post titled Supporting Sex Workers’ Rights, Opposing the Buying of Sex. Reading it, I once again did that thing where I start arguing with an online article in my head, and then I realized this is blogging material. So here you go:

I am an anti-sex-trafficking feminist. I think sex work is incredibly problematic. And I also support the rights of sex workers. I think you can do all those things at once.

Sure one can. The question is really rather whether one’s actions on all these are consistent and synergistic, or whether one’s undermining one set of actions with another. Oh, and whether the actions actually are helpful, of course.

Also, sex work is “problematic” only in the same sense that manufacturing is problematic: it sits at the intersection of multiple axes of oppression and is made invisible/marginalized by the kyriarchy. And since the…

View original 2,724 more words

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “

  1. My feminism will be intersectional or it will be bullshit.”

    Love this. Thanks for linking to Jadehawk’s blog.

  2. I don’t know if you read Social Justice League, but recently there was a post there regarding sex work — specifically, giving counter-arguments to anti-sex-work positions, such as how the “problem” with people choosing to go into sex work because they wouldn’t make enough as a waitress to earn a living isn’t a problem with sex work, but a problem with the minimum wage being too low or the social welfare system not being good enough. It’s a really interesting post and this reminded me of it, so I thought you might like to check it out if you haven’t already.

    http://www.socialjusticeleague.net/2013/01/legitimising-sex-work-the-counter-arguments-to-your-anti-sex-work-position/

  3. Thanks, Remi, I’ll have to check it out.

  4. Origami Isopod/Ms. Daisy Cutter

    Not a bad post, until Jadehawk decided to coddle the asshole in the thread who whined at women on Feministe that they had “sexual privilege.” MRA speak much? I’m all for decriminalization, but I don’t owe any approval to the “Sad Unfuckable Johns” in the name of “feminism,” or “anti-ableism,” or (lolz) “introvert oppression.”

  5. Happiestsadist

    What Ms. Daisy said. That is some seriously gross, yes, misogynist shit. Sex worker rights are about labour rights, not about the poor Sad Unfuckables.

Leave a Reply

